McAfee President David DeWalt to Be Appointed to President Obama’s National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee

May 31, 2011
Cyber Security, FedCyber Wire
No Comment

SANTA CLARA, Calif.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–McAfee today announced that President Barack Obama has announced his intent to appoint McAfee President David DeWalt to serve on the National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee (NSTAC). The committee, composed of telecommunications and technology industry CEOs, advises and provides recommendations to the President and other government leaders on matters of security that relate to the nation’s telecommunications systems. The advisory group looks at security in the context of its impact on broad national security and will ensure that the appropriate protections are put in place for citizens to guarantee their civil rights.

“I am honored by this appointment and thankful that the Administration believes so strongly that a focus on Cyber Security is of vital national importance,” said DeWalt. “I look forward to working with the Administration and the leadership of our telecommunications industry to determine how to address the ever-increasing complexity of today’s key technological and policy considerations that face our nation.”

Since joining McAfee in 2007, DeWalt has guided McAfee through three consecutive years of growth, with a record $2.1 billion in revenue in 2010. On August 19, 2010, Intel agreed to purchase McAfee for $7.68 billion. At McAfee, DeWalt has spearheaded investment in technology, expanded the company’s strategic alliances, and built an ecosystem of more than 100 technology partners. A recognized authority on cybersecurity, he appears regularly on nationally televised news programs, has spoken at the World Economic Forum in Davos, participated in panel discussions alongside world leaders, and served as an advisor to the National Security Agency (NSA) and the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), among others.

DeWalt will join the following new appointees for members on the President’s National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee: Scott Charney,corporate vice president of Microsoft’s Trustworthy Computing Group; Dick Costolo, CEO of Twitter, Inc.; Jamie Dos Santos, President and CEO of Terremark Federal Group; and Lisa Hook, President and CEO of Neustar, Inc.

Story here.